Instant Running Street Cred

In contrast to my previous post on how to instantly lose credibility as a runner, below is a guaranteed method of gaining instant credibility in the Kansas City running community.

image

Wear a Hospital Hill shirt.

It doesn’t matter how short of a distance you are going or how slowly you are doing it – if you’re wearing a Hospital Hill shirt, you will gain instant respect among your peers in this town.

Bonus: The event is incredibly well-run and I’d recommend it anyway. AND you get the same shirt if you run the 5K, the 10K, or the whole shebang, the half marathon.  Not that any of those courses are exactly a cakewalk.  Hospital Hill makes you earn that shirt.  But once you do…

INSTANT STREET CRED.

*note: the first rule of Life with Libby: never hold her without a burp cloth. I will NOT be running in that Hospital Hill shirt today.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Running in KC. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Instant Running Street Cred

  1. Elizabeth says:

    So funny that you talk about the HH shirts. I did the HH 1/2 for the first time this summer. Didn’t do enough training; signed up on a whim the day before (it wasn’t pretty). I almost quit in the middle of the race and one thing that kept me going was thinking, “I will feel too ashamed to ever wear the shirt that says ‘I conquered the hill’ if I end up quitting half way through the race!” So I sucked it up and finished & now I can wear the shirt with honor. :) Ha!

  2. Lula says:

    She looks so cute and happy. Is she smiling at the baby in the mirror? I miss her. I think she needs more Grandma time.

  3. For me, anyone running and pushing a stroller has instant running cred. If you can get up and feed a baby 2 or 3 or 10 times a night and wake up and run AND push a jogging stroller? More power to ya, mom. I’m going to go back to bed after this run. Lol.

Leave a Reply

