Why The New Space?

The first question I got from people after telling them I up and started a whole new blog was very simple:

Why?

I’ve been maintaining a somewhat functional blog for the past year and a half.  It wasn’t anything special – just a blank white page where I rambled about my everyday life as a new homeowner, wife, and young professional in the suburbs.  I blogged to keep people up-to-date, as well as to pass time at a job I despised.  And it served those purposes well.

But guess what? I quit that miserable job!  And once I did, I identified with that space less and less.  Disenchanted with the American Dream and suburban life in general, my posts grew more infrequent and more pessimistic.  The only topic I was able to write about enthusiastically was running. 

It was during that time that I began to notice the search engine traffic coming to my blog, targeted primarily toward local race recaps as well as marathon training and recovery.  I started doing searches of my own, in a quest to find more Midwest-based running bloggers.  While they are out there, there aren’t that many of them – particularly in the KC metro area.  I began to see an opportunity to fill a void in the blog universe. 

I certainly could have used my existing blog to narrow my focus, but I still felt hindered by the negative vibe it emitted.  To me, a fresh start made the most sense.

I’m considering importing some old posts over to this space, but I’m on the fence.  Expect this place to be under construction for quite some time as I decide exactly what I want to do with it. 

But for now, I feel just as bright-eyed and hopeful as I did when I moved to KC alone three weeks after college graduation, ready to take the world by storm.  Kinda.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

