Goals and Stuff

So, here we go.  It’s official.  After running my first marathon just to say I did it, I’m registered to run another. 

My goals for San Diego 2009 were pretty simple.  If I finished, I’d accomplish what I set out to do.   Everything else was just extra.  Actually enjoying the experience was a total surprise. 

On this second go-round, I’m setting my sights higher.  MUCH higher, actually, since I really am talking about making an attempt at a 23-minute personal record.  It’s been hard to wrap my brain around what that actually means, and what I’ll have to do between now and May 1 to stand a chance.  As I’ve been carving out my path, I’ve come up with some other goals to work toward concurrently.  I’m liking how it looks from here – because even if I get to May 1 and don’t run that magic time, there’s a good chance that the spring season could bring some other successes. 

Before I even set foot on that starting line, I hope to:

1.  Kick the morning soda habit.  I know it’s awful.  My obsession with hydration before exercise is the only thing that can keep me from grabbing that soda out of the fridge in the morning.  During last year’s training, I was able to cut myself off on Thursday in order to prepare for Saturday’s long run.  I’m planning some slightly more intense midweek workouts for Marathon, Round Two.  I think I might be able to convince my brain to just give it up all together. 

2.  PR at the 13.1 mile distance.  My current personal best half marathon is 1:53, run last year while I was training for San Diego.  Even splits for a 3:40 marathon would be two 1:50 halves, back-to-back.  The math on this one isn’t tough.  A PR simply has to happen in order for this to work.  (In the interest of full disclosure, I’m shooting for 1:45.)

3.  Gain back some muscle mass.  You may not know this, but I was once the Under 5’4″ Distance Running Bench Press Champion of the World Truman State University weight room.  I kind of wonder if I could even lift the bar at this point.  I have no intention of becoming a body builder, but I’m sick of my arms being sore after soccer games.  It’s quite pathetic.

4.  Rediscover abdominal muscles.  For eight years, I found running in shirts to be restricting and uncomfortable.  I didn’t even own a single full-length athletic tank.  Not that I’d even consider running around in just a sports bra at this point, but a little bit of that confidence would be nice. 

There you have it.  Accomplishing any one of these things this spring would label it a success in my book.  If I can knock them all out at once, it will be nothing short of amazing.  And if by some chance the worlds align in such a way that I find myself in good enough shape to pull this off…

It might be pretty awesome.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Ancient History, training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goals and Stuff

  1. Megan says:

    LOL! I love your blog, and I’m completely with you on #1 and #5. There’s unlimited Mt. Dew in a fridge right by my desk at work, which makes the giving up even more difficult. It’s crazy how much things change for “after college” running.

    Good luck with your training!

  2. Em says:

    These sound reasonable and achievable. I really need to get myself back to the gym!! I was doing so well before my 1/2 last spring, but since then … nearly nada! When I get home …

  3. Pingback: Garbage Out « Still A Runner

Leave a Reply

