More on Pacing

My college teammate Em asked:

And I’m a little curious about why you are planning on doing all your long runs at race pace? That seems a little counter-intuitive. While you certainly should DO runs at race pace (and faster!), it seems that everything I’ve read suggests that you slow down from RP a little on your long runs.

Thoughts?

Thoughts indeed!

At this point, what I need most is confidence.  I know what I want to do, but I have no idea if I can actually do it at this point.  Had I decided I wanted to BQ four years ago, things would be different.  In a lot of ways, I’m kicking myself for slacking for the past four years, and right now that’s coming out in the form of kicking my own butt in training.

So yes, I’m going out there to run BQ pace on long runs, mostly to see if I can do it. 

But I’m not running all my runs at that pace.  Does that change things in the eyes of people who actually know stuff?  My shorter tempo and interval workouts during the week are at a faster pace.  (How much faster depends on my mood.)

Admittedly I don’t do much reading on training plans – I just do what makes logical sense to me and feels comfortable.  And right now, this is what makes sense.

So, does this mean I’m actually training to run 3:30 or 3:35?  Maybe.  If that’s what my plan reflects according to the accepted standards of marathon training, I guess that’s what it is.  (And that actually makes me feel even more comfortable, giving myself a bit of a hypothetical cushion.) 

I won’t pretend that I have any knowledge whatsoever about the marathon.  I’m pretty forthcoming about the fact that I don’t even particularly enjoy running distances over 6 miles.  I really, truly appreciate any tips or knowledge anyone can impart – because if my aforementioned logic is…umm…completely wrong, I should probably be made aware. 

But for now, I feel pretty good about things.  So let me down lightly!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

