Bummer.

I’m not always the best at planning in advance.

I’ve had the Kansas City Groundhog Run on my radar for quite awhile now.  About 8 years, to be completely honest – it’s one of those races that my KC-native college roommate raved about when we first met.  (Hi, Pam!)  It’s a pretty awesome deal, you see.  Because while late January road races in Kansas City are A)hard to find and B)generally miserable, this one is special.  It’s underground.

While I’ve considered running it every year since I moved here, I haven’t gotten around to it.  It’s on a Sunday, it’s way up in a weird part of the city(read: North of the river), excuses, excuses, excuses. 

But this year, a Sunday 10K sounded like a pretty good idea.

Yesterday, I headed to the website to sign up for this Sunday’s race.  (Nothing like advance planning, right?)  And I’m sure the punchline won’t surprise you – online registration was closed.  Whomp Whomp.

So my current plan is to drive out to packet pickup (in another awkwardly-located part of the city) on my lunch break tomorrow to do the last-minute registration thing.  But there’s another catch.  There is a participant cap.  I do plan to call someone before heading out, but if I drive all the way over there and registration is closed…well, I guess I’ll just have to get Chik-Fil-A for lunch and call it a success.  But I’d be pretty bummed.

I’m very excited at the idea of getting out there with the KC running community this weekend.  I haven’t run a race since October.  So please, KC road race gods, forgive my procrastination.  I won’t let you down!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bummer.

  1. Amy says:

    I think I saw on Facebook that you got in? I’m doing the 5k this year. Did the 10k last year but wussed out this year. The Ground Hog run is fantastic! It’s one of my favorites. This will be my fourth time! Make sure you get there early because parking can be a major pain.

Leave a Reply

