The Good, The Bad, and the Bearded

The good news: I was able to register for Sunday’s Groundhog Run!  It was no easy task – requiring driving across the city on my lunch break and waiting in line for nearly an hour with the rest of the procrastinators.  I watched the better-prepared advanced registrants zip in and out, probably having time to stop and sit down for lunch before heading back to work.  Me? Not so lucky.  But I got that race number!

It’s snowy in Kansas City this weekend.  Pretty much perfect conditions for a race that is nearly indoors.  However, it made my run today exceedingly difficult.  After passing ten separate accidents within 2 miles on southbound I-35 last night after dinner, I decided not to head out early in the morning.  This, of course, meant that I was left to run all alone.  I really need to find some training buddies ASAP. 

I intended to run 14 miles: 12 at a decent clip, and 2 more relaxed.  Let’s just say that didn’t quite happen.  At 10 miles, I was tired, and cranky, and dreading getting out and running again tomorrow.  So I made a decision that some might consider mentally weak, but I feel was the best thing to do.

I turned off the GPS and chilled out.  I went the full distance I had planned, but I have no idea how long those last miles took me.  And since I’m going out tomorrow to try to find that steady clip again, I don’t feel too bad about it.

But I can’t say I’m looking forward to this race as much as I was while standing in that line on Friday!  I have about 15 hours to find some enthusiasm. 

I’ll now search for it by rooting for Kansas State basketball against KU.  Not because I have any ties to K-State whatsoever, but mostly because fake beards are pretty funny.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

