A Surprise PR

I realized on my way up to the Northland for the Groundhog Run on Sunday that I couldn’t remember my 10K PR. 

In fact, as I scanned the memory banks for instances where I actually RAN a 10K, I came up empty.  Sure, I went for plenty of 6-ish mile training runs throughout high school and college, but I never raced more than 4 miles.  After college, I’ve run a few long races that recorded a first 10K split…but as far as I could remember, there was only one other 10K race time documented in my running universe.

It was in 1997. 

I’m very disappointed in the quality of this picture, but I was so excited when I found it, that I wanted to get it on the web as quickly as possible.  Here I am in all my eighth grade glory – blue fingernails, soccer shorts, and the t-shirt of the race I’d just finished:

sarah 1997 first 10K

Third place in my age group.  Oh yes.

As excited as I was to find the photograph in my stash of things thankfully pilfered from my parents’ house over the years (more on that some other time), I was shocked to find the results online!   Back in ’97, the Internet as I knew it was limited to the realm of AOL.  Way to go, Illinois Valley Striders.  You’re the best.

It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy to see those results.  My mom, dad, and I all finished within 20 seconds of each other.  They got me into running as a preteen, taking me to races because it was easier than dropping me off with a grandparent.  But once I started running in high school, we didn’t run together anymore.  The days of out-sprinting my dad at the finish line were over.  (Of course, there’s always time for one last rematch; whaddya say?)  Those results tell a story, and I absolutely love it.

The results also serve a very functional purpose: documenting fact.  There in the IVS archives was my 10K PR – 58:39. 

Guess what? I broke it yesterday.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Ancient History, Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Surprise PR

  1. Em says:

    But you couldn’t tell me how the race actually went?!?!

    It’s okay. I’m good at finding results online too! 🙂 I would say a PR by 10 MINUTES is pretty damn good. That’s a whole minute/k faster … Whoo-hoo for you!!

    And while I was at it, I checked out Amy’s 5K time. Seems like she’s still a runner too.

  2. Jenny says:

    What!? My 10K last year was 59:03……..you can do WAAAAAY better than that!
    miss and love you!

Leave a Reply

