Defiance

This evening, I will commit what is, for me, the cardinal sin of marathon training.

I’m blowing off a workout in favor of happy hour.

It’s not unlike the behavior of Simon, our 11-month-old lab/collie mix. He acknowledges a command, thinks about it for a minute, and then does whatever the heck he wants. Yep, this sums me up pretty effectively.

To attempt to rationalize my defiance: I’m meeting up with the first friends I made in KC. During my internship and first 6 months after college, these get-togethers were weekly at the very least. (This explains how I promptly got out of shape and gained ten cheeseburgerpounds after graduation.) But once I got old and lame and married and moved further south than anyone will come visit, we have gathered much less frequently. This is long overdue.

When this event was scheduled, I looked at my training plan, thought about it for a minute, and promptly chose to ignore it. Defiant? Yes. But I’m pretty much OK with it.

Unfortunately, I did NOT sync my happy hour plans with the television schedule. The LOST season premiere presents a conflict that can not be ignored. This happy hour is going to have to end early.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Defiance

  1. MRHiBiT says:

    You better not be late for LOST! And, I will not permit you to defy the rule which states: No Talking Allowed During New Episodes of LOST. I guess I will talk to you at 10pm Central =)

  2. thefitbride says:

    Pssht, it’s not breaking the rules, it’s “juggling” according to Hal Higdon!

    Look at it this way: if you don’t go, you’ll resent running and THAT is even worse for race training.

Leave a Reply

