Love 2 Run

When this post publishes, I will be out running a Valentine’s Day race for couples.  My husband will be at church.

I’m running with my friend Bridgette.  (Yes, we tried to register as a couple.  No, the system would not allow  it due to “not meeting gender requirements.” Lame.)  Our friendship is tied to the other sport I love: adult recreational kickball.

kickball 2

Crazy kickball antics led to our current indoor soccer endeavor, which requires a bit more fitness than it takes to put down the beer and step up to the plate on the kickball field.  It was after one of our first soccer games that Bridgette asked me to teach her to run.

I gladly put on my figurative coaching hat, set my Timex to 2 minute intervals, and dragged her out on the snowy south suburban streets. 

Her original goal was to run the Westport St. Patrick’s Day 4-mile run in 40 minutes, in mid-March.  But she’s pretty much kicking butt, and decided she wants to run a race “for practice” this weekend.  I’m pretty sure she’s going to dominate. 

So I’m running next to her as her pace clock, drill sergeant, and Valentine. 

Go Bridgette Go!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love 2 Run

  1. Pingback: The Coldest Race Ever « Still A Runner

Leave a Reply

