Indian Creek Trail Love

I run most of my solo long runs out in the country.  It’s convenient, easy to map out necessary distances, and I can pick an intersection to be “home base” for water and supplies if I decide to do a few loops. 

However, I’m starting to think it might be in my best interest to travel up the road a bit to hit the Johnson County trail system.

For runners and bikers alike, these trails are fantastic.  Each city in the southwest suburbs of KC maintains their own stretch of trails, but they all connect together to create a massive network.  The paved trails tend to follow creeks, therefore safe from the traffic that flows across the creeks via overpass.  They weave between neighborhoods, past parks, and around corporate business parks.  While they run adjacent to or even underneath major roadways, motorists rarely notice their presence. 

Unfortunately, we live nowhere near a trailhead.  I think that had I been running more consistently when we purchased our home two years ago, I may have re-thought our choice of location.  Although at the time, I was working for a mega-corporation right along a portion of the trail – and usually ran straight from the office – so perhaps I wasn’t thinking about my future as a disenchanted former corporate cube monkey.

Depending on the starting point, it can be a 15-30 minute drive for me to reach a good place to park and run.  I gladly drive this distance on a regular basis in order to meet a group on the trail, but I’m thinking it may be worth it to drive that distance to run alone.  The trails are never empty, always scenic, and for some reason, I want to run fast on them. 

Also, once I get in my car and drive away from my warm, cozy bed, it eliminates the opportunity to snuggle back under the blankets and decide to run later.  Sometimes I need to acknowledge my laziness and proactively work against it. 

I think writing this post has solidified my position.  JoCo trails, you will be seeing much more of me in the coming weeks!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Running in KC, training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Indian Creek Trail Love

  1. d.a.r. says:

    My inlaws live right near an entrance to that trail system, it is amazing. I LOVE going to their house solely so that I can run there 🙂

  2. Amy says:

    I love the trails. It’s where I do almost all of my long runs. It’s where I took Ben to run our long runs together when we were training for the half last fall. I love it because the miles are marked so I know exactly how fast I’m running. And no traffic. And you see lots of wildlife. I’ve seen so many deer out there.

  3. Pingback: Big Fat Bandit « Still A Runner

Leave a Reply

