It’s About Time (And a Hydration Question)

Remember weeks ago when I revealed that I’m a big wimp and too scared to show up to an established running group, for fear of who knows what?

Well, I finally sucked it up and went.  And guess what?  It wasn’t scary at all.  We set out, ran 4 miles, and the guys I was running with tried to drop me in the last half mile.  (I’m pleased to report that they did not succeed.)  I thoroughly enjoyed it. 

They even invited me to run long with them on Saturday.  Mission accomplished! 

I have no idea what kind of paces this group will do for a long run, but for this mid-week jaunt I was well-suited to run with them.  I’m optimistic.

However, while it will easily beat running solo loops in the country, and will be better to mentally tackle than running twice as far as the current Team in Training schedule calls for, I’m forseeing a hydration challenge.  Without a four-mile loop or strategically stationed coolers, I may have to carry my own water for the first time EVER.

I have two days to determine my hydration plan and put it into action.   So what’s the best way to do it?  A belt?  Water bottle with hand strap?  Camelbak?  Help!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Long Run, Running in KC, training. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s About Time (And a Hydration Question)

  1. d.a.r. says:

    Clearly I am a newbie runner wannabe, so take my advice with a grain of salt…but I hated, hated, hated a hand-held water bottle. Ugh it made my arm ache, it was annoying, it sloshed. I almost ditched it mid-run.

    Good for you for going!!

  2. Megan says:

    For me, the best solution has been the simplest. I carry a plastic water bottle for most of my long runs. I usually opt for a disposable one so I can throw it away when it gets empty or starts to annoy me. I actually don’t mind the sloshing and it’s sort of like carrying a baton, which reminds me of the good ol’ days (awwww…). I have a bottle with a hand strap, too, and that works, too–I like the extra pocket to stash stuff in. And this is probably TMI, but I don’t like to have anything strapped around my waist. It, um, leads to more frequent urges to “go.” Plus, fuel belts are pretty expensive. I’m too cheap for that mess.

  3. Em says:

    I think that your best option is probably just going to be to try a few different hydration methods over your next several long runs. Find out what works best for you. My preference is just to carry a small bottle on my “long loop” (70 minutes). If I”m running longer than that, I swing back to my house. I find that a camelbak is overkill for me, though I know that they make rather small compact ones, so if I owned one of those, I would probably use it!

  4. Jen says:

    as nerdy as I may look, I prefer the Nathan [brand] belt–2 bottle version. no slipping up or down and surprisingly convenient. I had a Fuelbelt [brand] and had a TON of slipping…very annoying! the hand-held bottles are not my thing, but if you are looking for a small one, I suggest the Nathan “sprint”. It fits around your hand more like a glove. If you do go for the “belt” option, make sure you get the size that allows you to have it sit on your hip bone. This decreases the movement! Hope that’s helpful…..

  5. Amy says:

    Ben and I used a water bottle with a hand strap while training for the half last fall. I could only tolerate it because we switched off who held it each mile. He would hold it one mile, then me, then him, then me. I wouldn’t not have been able to carry that thing around by myself the entire time. I found it way too annoying. So I might try a belt next and see how that goes but I’m just not sure about it….

    http://www.everythingishomemade.com

  6. Stacey says:

    I just found your blog today and wanted to let you know how much I love it. I also live in KC (Northern OP) and it’s nice to find a blog I can relate to. What running group did you run with; was it Runner’s Edge? Last year when the husband and I were training for the KC 1/2 we joined RE and they were fabulous! They have a ton of pace groups and marked aid stations every 2mi along the course and they meet at various locations all over KC. If I end up doing a half or full this fall I will definitely join again. Check them out: http://runnersedgekc.com/

    For the weekday runs when we weren’t with the group we wore a fuel belt. Currently I’m training for the Bike Source Sprint Tri at Heritage Park and the Hyvee Olympic Tri in Iowa. I think I may also do the WinforKC at Smithville and the SM Tri, but haven’t decided . Anyway, sorry to ramble on, but I can’t wait to read more of your blog!

Leave a Reply

