The Coldest Race Ever

I’m not sure if I’ve ever raced in colder conditions than the Love 2 Run 4-mile race last Sunday.  Morning temps in the teens plus double-digit wind speeds made for a bitterly cold day for Bridgette’s first race. 

I was there as her coach – to be stern when she wanted to quit.  To hold her accountable for the goal she set.  The first thing  I did was tell her she couldn’t wear her sweatpants to race.  I’m pretty mean.

But it was just as cold for me as it was for her.  The first mile of the race went straight into the headwind.  Freezing nose, numb toes – all those things I was more than happy to opt out of upon my “retirement” four years ago.  But before the halfway point, it warmed up enough to be almost comfortable.

Bridgette’s goal was to run four 10-minute miles.  I took us out at about 9:30 pace, giving us a 30-second cushion to walk each mile.  The first mile was solid, but the second mile we used the cushion.  It was short, but just long enough.  We started up again in time to make at 9:59 second mile, and didn’t look back from there.

I spent the second half of the race yammering into Bridgette’s ear.  “Work your way up the hill, it feels GOOD to use different muscles!”  “See that person walking up there? You’re better than her! We’re going to go pass her right now!”  “Just another half mile and we get to use what’s left in the tank!”  I’m pretty sure she wanted to punch me in the face.

While she didn’t punch me, she did fight back.  Told me I was pushing her too far.  Even threatened to quit if I left her behind. 

 But I didn’t, and she didn’t.  Bridgette successfully finished her first four mile race (and ahead of me, I might add.)  Here she is, dominating the world:

love2run bridgette

And here’s her coach, looking like a total doofus.  You’d think that on a run like this, I’d be able to smile for the camera.  Not so much.
love2run moron

After the race, we waited in line for a bag of candy, got our picture taken one last time,
love2run sarah bridgette

and booked it out of there, to the warmth of the car (and later, McDonald’s. MMMMM.)

Now, let’s turn our attention toward the race results.  They are posted on the MARA Running website, here. 

Go ahead and take a look.  Scroll on down and look for us.

What’s that? You can’t find us?

Well, do you see that big gap between 37:47 and 39:03?  We finished in there!  Our unofficial time by my Garmin was 37:53 – and it appears our time remains unofficial, five days later.  But it doesn’t change the fact that Bridgette didn’t just meet her goal, she demolished it. 

It’s pretty fun to slow down the pace a bit to help friends speed theirs up.  I think I kind of like it. 

Next up on Bridgette’s path of road demolition: the Westport St. Patrick’s Day Run on March 13.  What do ya say we shoot for 35:00? 

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Racing, Running in KC. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Coldest Race Ever

  1. thefitbride says:

    Yay for both of you!

    I’m thinking about the Westport Race, but it’s kind of far from me and my race photographer/stuff holder/fiance is going to be at his bachelor party that weekend. We happened to be in the area eating lunch last year and it looked really fun–lots of people in green drinking beer while they ran!

Leave a Reply

