Hydration SUCCESS!

I spent much of my Friday evening at Gary Gribble’s, our local running store, scoping out their selection of hydration supplies.  While they did not carry the specific brands my good friend Jen recommended, they did have quite a wide variety of options.  (Although I’m sure that the selection at Big River Running, aka the best running store in the history of the universe, is much better.  And their staff much more knowledgable.  And good looking.  Hi, Jen!) 

I tried on a variety of belts, but they all felt bulky.  I wasn’t thrilled with the straps, and the difficulty of adjusting them, and the excess strap that hung around my body once I got the belt to fit properly.  I’m probably spoiled with the awesomeness of my iFitness belt. 

That left the other option: the hand-held bottle.  (Or, as the staff member suggested, heading out on the course and dropping off water in advance.  Way to make that sale.)  After putting them ALL on my hand and fake-jogging around the store, I settled on this one:

water bottle

And guess what? I don’t hate it!  The hand strap anchors pretty firmly, so that I didn’t even feel like I was “carrying it.”  And because it was so secure against my body, it hardly sloshed at all.  The only awkward times were when I was trying to get out and open packets of GU, which require the use of both hands.  When I took my hand out of the strap and briefly cradled the bottle in my elbow, THEN I noticed the sloshing.  But that was for a total of maybe one minute for the entire run.  I used the pocket to store my empty GU packets (don’t litter!) and it was perfect.

It was easy to drink while running (although I’m very glad I read the instructions prior to setting out this morning,) never spilled, and held enough for a pretty long run.  I don’t plan to carry my own fluid in any race situation, but will definitely be using this bottle for unsupported runs in the future.

Hooray for hydration!

(More on the run later.  For now, this girl needs a nap.)

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Equipment, Long Run. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hydration SUCCESS!

  1. thefitbride says:

    If you’re less than thrilled with GG’s (like I was), I highly recommend the Sports Medicine Store–there’s one way up north by Zona Rosa, and one in Overland Park too. I got infinitely better advice/help/service there than I do whenever I go to GG’s, and I think they have a bigger selection, too.

  2. Jen says:

    I’m glad you found something that worked! That one is just like one of the Nathan brand ones I was talking about. They are nice when they can strap down like that. As for GU…I will often just use the “key” pocket on the inside of my shorts or wear some shorts that have an outer pocket to keep that in. I find it’s easier to get it out and I can generally do it with one hand! When you come to STL I can answer any other burning questions!!! 🙂

  3. Jenny says:

    i have the EXACT same one! Well, different brand, but exact same bottle. I love it! I need constant sips…….and the pouch is the perfect size for house keys and and ID card (for when I pass out and need medical attention!)

    🙂 XO.

Leave a Reply

