My Very First Punch in the Face

I’m not a fighter.  In fact, I’m as non-confrontational as it gets.  When conflict arises, I run far, far away.  (The husband may disagree – but that’s different. Right?) 

Needless to say, I’ve never been in a physical fight.

So when I took a fist to the nose during an indoor soccer game on Sunday, the pain came as a bit of a surprise.  The contact was inadvertent, and the guy attached to the flailing arm was very apologetic.  I grimaced and told him I was OK – because while I might be completely conflict-averse, I am tough, dangit! 

When I got home and looked in the mirror, I was actually a tiny bit disappointed to find that there was no visible swelling or bruising.  I know it sounds completely backward.  But if my face HURTS as badly as it does, I want something to show for it! 

Actually, I think I take it back.  Because I don’t even want to think about how hard I would have had to be hit in order to leave a mark.  This was more than enough face-punching for me to handle.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in I Don't Always Run, Injury. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Very First Punch in the Face

  1. Shaina says:

    You go girl! Do you feel like a badass? Because I TOTALLY would, plus I’d try to put it into casual conversation. Like … “Oh yeah, me too. That reminds me, the day I got punched in the face …” or perhaps something like “That reminds me of the day I got punched in the face! What? No, it wasn’t a big deal at all.”

  2. Amy says:

    I used to play indoor soccer in a men’s league with my old company. There were never enough girls to play in the coed league and never enough dudes to field an entire men’s team so that’s how I ended up playing in the men’s league. Anywho in one game someone on the opposing team tried to score a goal with a REALLY hard kick and I just so happened to be in the wrong place and took the ball square to the face. It knocked me flat on my back. I was lying there dazed and opened my eyes to a ring of men standing over me. I was fine but horribly embarassed!

Leave a Reply

