Choose Your Own Adventure

My training plan for this marathon is something I’ve been referring to as my “Choose Your Own Adventure” training plan. 

In other words, I do what I want. 

For example: last week’s long run called for 16 miles.  Not exactly chump change in the land long long runs.  However, when I was invited to tag along on a group run on Saturday, they informed me that they were planning to go 18.  Hmmm.  18 is that much closer to 26… so I ran it.  And while the run was significantly slower than the miles I’ve been putting in to date, it felt pretty good.  I cranked up the last 3 miles to hypothetical race pace, which actually felt easier than the slower pace we had been running.  My body is remembering what it feels like to run just a little faster.  I like it.

But jumping from 14 miles to 18 has taken a toll on my body.  I ache. 

So you know what?  This week, I’m choosing my own adventure again.  No tempo run.  No interval workout.  Just lots of nice, comfortable miles.  I’m planning a long run over the weekend that will most likely result in running unprecedented speeds (I hope I can keep up!)  and I think that will be plenty of speedwork for the week. 

Next week, I’ll get back to the “plan” (which has been updated here!) That is, if I feel like it.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Long Run, training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Choose Your Own Adventure

  1. d.a.r. says:

    Good for you!! You know enough about running/training that you will be okay 🙂

  2. LouAnn says:

    I miss your other blog!!!!

Leave a Reply

