Sayonara, Soda

ATTENTION, INTERNET!

Retroactive to yesterday, I have officially given up my morning soda habit. 

For real this time. 

Surprisingly, I have not yet had a complete decaffeinated meltdown.  Of course, that’s because I haven’t given up caffeine entirely.  This morning, I started my workday with a mug of hot tea, which is a bit more acceptable than the Mountain Dew I was occasionally seen sipping before 8AM.  (I don’t drink coffee, which is what got me drinking soda in the first place.  I didn’t want to be left out of the daily corporate caffeination ritual.  Before entering corporate America, I rarely drank any soda at all.  Silly, right?) 

This is something I’ve been planning on doing for awhile – I think I even mentioned it in one of my introductory posts on goals for the coming months.  But as long as my husband kept stocking the fridge with that sweet supply of energy, I kept grabbing them on my way out the door in the morning.

It wasn’t until I drove all the way to St. Louis and back over the weekend with no caffeinated assistance that I realized I had given myself a head start.  So far, so good! 

I know I’m not the first one in the history of the universe to attempt to overcome the grasp of the devil’s syrup.  I’m armed with tea and sympathy Gatorade, but am I in for a crash just around the corner?  How have you resisted the temptation of fizzy goodness?  Share your successes with me!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Life is Good. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sayonara, Soda

  1. Amy says:

    For me it was a gradual change over the past few years. I just started cutting back on soda and now I almost never drink it. If Ben has one, I might have a few drinks, but I could never finish a whole one on my own. Pizza is the exception. For some reason if I’m eating pizza I need a pop to go with it. It’s like PB&J.

    I am however a BIG coffee drinker so maybe that’s why I had an easier time giving up soda. But I only drink decaf now. So no caffeine for me period!

  2. Jayme says:

    I dont ever drink caffeine…water, milk, lemonade…that’s about it. Besides wine and beer, of course 🙂 I’ve never been big on caffeine so I didnt have to get used to life without it…I just have a huge (84oz) mug at my desk that I fill with water and sip on through the day.

  3. Dana says:

    Chris loves the crystal light “energy” and “focus” drink packets that you add to the bottle of water. Big taste, low cal, and LOTS o’ caffine does the trick for him.
    Or you could nurse a baby….that will get you off caffine really quick when the little one is off the walls cause of what you drank =) jk

Leave a Reply

