Under an Alias

In college, there was a certain school in our conference whose runners all seemed to get married before graduation.  (Hi, Megan!)  It seemed that every fall, another one of their athletes would show up to the first race with two last names.

How was it possible that all of these young women hyphenated their last names? I wondered.  It didn’t make much sense to me – hyphenation is just not that common.

Time passed.  I graduated.  I met and married a wonderful man, and took his last name. 

Then came the time to register for my first race as a married person.

And then I got it.

It’s not like I was particularly well-known by my maiden name.  I hadn’t broken any big records or won any championships.  But as a runner, I had an identity.  One that I wasn’t quite ready to close the books on.  (Because come on, I know I’ll never be as fast as I was at 21!) 

So, while my maiden name has been absent from my legal name for nearly two years, it still shows up on every set of race results – alongside my married name.  It takes up way too much space in the “Name” column, it’s confusing when I register the day of races, it throws announcers for a loop, and plenty of people probably think it doesn’t make much sense. 

But as a runner, that’s who I am.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Ancient History. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Under an Alias

  1. Megan says:

    LOL. Well, hello! Coach wasn’t ever very excited about that trend, and he blamed me for starting it. For the record, I don’t think I ever hyphenated — but most of the other girls did and I can certainly understand why. My strategy was to lull all of the other teams into complacency that first meet back — “Oh good, that Megan girl must have quit” and then take you by surprise with my new name. Muhahahahaha…

Leave a Reply

