Here Comes Another One

“Hey, maybe on your lunch break tomorrow you can go pick up some cat food.”

“Yeah, maybe, I don’t know if I’ll have time.  I have to go pick up my race packet.”

“Your WHAT?!”

So I’m about to race for the third weekend in a row.  I haven’t done that since college.  I decided to Rock the Parkway on pretty short notice, which is evident since my husband didn’t even know I had registered.  But it’s a new event in Kansas City that a lot of people are pretty excited about  – so I figured I wanted to be a part of the excitement. 

I’ve also reached that point in marathon training where 13.1 miles feels short.  In my mind, this seems like a good time to try to run a relatively fast race, as opposed to outside of marathon training when 13.1 feels excruciatingly long in comparison to my much-preferred 5K or 4-mile distance. 

As this post publishes, I will be lining up with the 1:45 pace leader and hanging on for dear life.  Wish me luck!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Racing, Running in KC. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Here Comes Another One

Leave a Reply

