Losing Steam

My all-time favorite race in the entire world takes place in my homeland in mid-June.  It’s called the Steamboat Classic and every runner should make the trek to beautiful Peoria, Illinois to experience it.   I actually registered for the race last week to get the early-bird discount, but that is neither here nor there.

The Illinois Valley Striders – again, one of the better running clubs in all the land – run a training group called Building Steam.  (I just got all sentimental when I went to the IVS site and realized all of the training programs are starting this week!)  Buildng Steam a training program that prepares beginning runners and walkers for the race by breaking them into pace-based training groups, each with its own coach.  I never formally participated since I was playing soccer and/or running track, but I tagged along with my parents somewhat regularly.  The program culminated in what was essentially a timed practice-race on the 4-mile course, complete with a time clock and finisher’s medals.  It gave runners the confidence they needed to show up and do the same thing with a few thousand others on race day. 

I think I could use some assistance with steam-building over here on my own race preparation effort.  Because, my friends, I am losing it.

Gunning for a 13.1 PR two weekends ago may have taken it out of me.  I didn’t think it would – I didn’t feel overly exhausted after the race, and I felt generally awesome about it – but jumping back into training afterward has been decidedly difficult.  I haven’t updated my training log on this page, because I haven’t kept track of a single run.  Explains why the blog has been pretty empty, right?  And last weekend, I broke the cardinal rule of marathon training…

I didn’t do a long run.

I just didnt have it in me.  I was exhausted.  I came up with plenty of better things to do, and I enjoyed each and every one of them.  But today, as I walked out to my car after work in the rain and wind, I realized that it’s crunch time.  So I got myself to the gym, and 8 miles later, I feel a bit better about things.

One more long, long run.  THEN I can chill out.  Because right before a race, it’s not called slacking, it’s called tapering! 

Do you ever lose motivation in the middle of a training cycle?  Where do you find it?

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

