In Common

We have an accountant complete our tax return.  Yes, I’m an accountant.  But I don’t “do tax.”  I took the requisite taxation courses in college, and completed returns as part of a free service the university provides to the community, but tax stresses me out.  So I don’t do it. 

Apparently, our accountant is a runner.  She has a unique name, and I heard it announced as a pace-team leader at a half marathon I ran last year.  I then proceeded to stalk her on Athlinks and found out she’s actually pretty fast.  I promptly forgot about it – until yesterday.

Our accountant asked us a few purely tax-related questions over email.  As my husband responded, he told me all that he included in the body of the message. 

“I told her you were thinking about running that half marathon again.”

“…umm….WHY?”

“Because I want to let her know you have something in common!”

“Umm…did you think about the fact that I’m an ACCOUNTANT?”

“Oh yeah.”

So basically, my husband thinks I need more friends.  Which is true.  So thanks, husband, for joining me in my quest for running friendships, as strange as it may be!

Oh, and apparently she responded and told me that I need to run Hospital Hill, because it’s the best race in Kansas City.  But I don’t waaaaant to!!!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Common

  1. Mike says:

    So, I went to the Hospital Hill Webstie and there are some training documents to prepare for a 5K, 10K, and 13.1K. You might be able to convince me to run a 10K. No promises. It will take some convincing…

Leave a Reply

