‘Twas the Night before Olathe…

It’s 10PM the night before the Olathe Marathon/Half.  A race for which I did not register.  A race which does not offer day-of registration.

You see, for the past several weeks I didn’t know whether I would be able to go for a long run in Olathe on Saturday morning.  Mike and I are serving as mentors for our church’s Confirmation students, and this weekend is their retreat. 

 They are out at a camp in the middle of nowhere, and until an hour or so ago, I was too.  But it was determined that it made perfect sense for me to come home to take care of the pups, sleep at home, run up here in the morning, and then head back out to camp tomorrow.  So I’ll be sleeping peacefully with the rest of our pack, while my husband attempts to get a few hours of rest among a pack of rambunctous pre-teen boys.  (His one request when I left tonight: “When you come back, PLEASE bring Mountain Dew.”)

But now I have a dilemma. 

I need to go for a really, really long run in the morning.  One that begins with a two. 

I stand against bandit running.  I know the tremendous amount of resources and effort that go into planning, organizing, and running a race – especially a marathon – and feel that running the race without registering takes advantage of all those individuals who worked so hard to make it happen. 

But when I need to run twenty-plus miles…and there is a large group of individuals also running twenty-plus miles, just up the road… I am so very tempted to join them for a portion of their run.

I’m pretty good at attempting to justify questionable motives.  In fact, I’ve typed and deleted multiple justification scenarios in the very spot where these words now rest. 

All I know is that I plan to run in Olathe tomorrow morning.  Exactly when, where, and in what direction will be determined when the time arrives.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Long Run, Running in KC. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Twas the Night before Olathe…

  1. Emily says:

    Do it. (I just say that because it would make me nervous about getting in trouble… but I would totally want to do it… and maybe would if I was running 20 some odd miles… and had a partner in crime. But you’re on your own here. What’s the worst that could happen? Getting yelled at?)

Leave a Reply

