Two Weeks Out!

Two weeks until the marathon.

Actually, two weeks from now, I will be back in the homeland with a medal around my neck.  In theory.

I’m starting to get excited, and nervous, and all of those wonderful things that come before a big race.  I’m also getting reacquainted with my oh-so-familiar neurosis.  Studying the course map, figuring out logistics, meticulously planning every detail of the trip. 

I used to take a lot of good-natured ribbing over my dedication to pre-race rituals.  I take a great deal of comfort in routine.  The less I have to think about come race weekend/day, the better.  Stressing about logistics on race day never bodes well for me, and after doing this racing thing for 15 years, I have a pretty good idea of what it takes to keep my nerves under control. 

The only major detail I have left to iron out is dinner on Friday night.  I didn’t sign up for the official pasta dinner.  This might sound snooty, but in San Diego last spring I wasn’t thrilled with having to get up and stand in line to refill my own water over and over again.  If it’s possible to have a relaxing dinner before the race, I’d like to make that happen.  Should I have thought about this and made a reservation somewhere awhile ago? Yes.  Right about the time I should have booked a hotel room.

But I’m hopeful that there are dinner reservations out there, just as there was a hotel room waiting for me when I got around to taking care of it.  Even if there aren’t reservations to be found, I am somewhat confident in my backup plan:

Chipotle. 

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in food, I'm a little neurotic., race prep. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

