Profile of a Nutcase: 3 Days Pre-Marathon

Here we are on marathon Eve-Eve-Eve.  This silly little race is occupying most of my thoughts, and some of my actions as well.
Here’s what I’ve been up to:

1.  Stretching Compulsively.  At home, at work, you name it.  And I’m not talking about discreet bathroom-stall arm stretches here.  This is all-out, middle-of-the-aisle, waiting for my documents to print hamstring stretching.  Some serious yard work on Sunday left me more sore than I anticipated, and I’m more than a little paranoid about it.  I see an ice bath in my near future.

2.  Stalking the Weather Forecast.  In the seven days since the forecast for May 1 has been available on weather.com, the outlook has changed from a 70% chance of showers, to a 40% chance (better!) of scattered thunderstorms (BOO), to its current prediction: 30% chance of isolated thunderstorms.  I catch myself wondering about the odds of those thunderstorms remaining isolated in my current location for 26.2 miles.

3.  Stalking Other Race Registrants.  Here is the part where it crosses the line into “Nutcase” territory.  But it’s not my fault!  The marathon website has a Registration Confirmation feature.  And it would not be searchable by Location, Age, and Gender if it served merely as a tool to ensure that individual participants were registered for the race.  My high school track coach is running the half!  One of my old-school rivalfriends is running the marathon!  I’m not sure what purpose this information serves (other than giving me faces to look for on race day) but this is just the kind of behavior that places me among the biggest running nerds of all time.

4.  Guzzling Gatorade.  At this point, when the work has been done and it’s just a waiting game, I still try to do whatever I can to help my chances on race day.  This basically points to hydration.  The 32-ounce bottles were on sale for $1 at the grocery store last week.  I stocked up.  And it is good.

5.  Taming the Control-Freak Beast.  I think I maintain a pretty easygoing attitude througout most things, but if you couldn’t tell – running tends to release the beast within.  I’m so thankful for the wonderful people around me who are going out of their way to support me… but I know the worst way to show my appreciation is to present my mother with a spectating itinerary.  So I’m resisting the urge to morph into Runnerzilla… although I treaded a fine line by emailing one of my closest and most reliable friends to confirm that he had in fact made the dinner reservation that he had so kindly offered to make upon reading my last marathon post. 

6.  Getting Really, Really Excited.  Friends, this weekend is going to be fun.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in I'm a little neurotic., race prep, Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Profile of a Nutcase: 3 Days Pre-Marathon

  1. thefitbride says:

    Good luck, dude. You’ll do great!

Leave a Reply

