Marathon Footnotes

Because I’m not quite ready to move on, here are some more random footnotes about the Illinois Marathon experience. 

1.  Just after the finish line, while I was still stagger-y and out of it, Katherine Switzer came and shook my hand.  It wasn’t until after I had recovered a bit that I processed the fact that this was kind of a big deal.  As the first woman to enter and run the Boston Marathon, she opened the door to a world of opportunity for me, 40 years later.  It’s amazing just to think about.  A seriously awesome and inspiring touch.

2.  During the race, I grew a sixth toe.  I felt my foot rubbing a bit in the early miles of the race, but didn’t think anything of it until Mike helped me take off my shoes after the finish.  “Be careful with this [right] one, I’m not sure what it’s going to look like,” I warned.  Even I had no idea what I was in for – the biggest, reddest, grossest blister I’ve ever seen.  I think it’s still haunting Mike in his dreams.  (Of course, I doctored it that very night and five days later, the skin is completely healed.)  Yes, I took pictures.  No, you probably don’t want to see them.  Very well.  Moving on.

3.  As time passes, I am more and more assured that I ran the smartest race plan for the situation.  It is Wednesday, and I feel completely recovered.  I haven’t gone out to run yet, but I’m thinking about it, which I feel is pretty much a WIN.  I’m considering doing a slightly insane “racing” double next weekend, without actually racing either race.  I’m just excited about the fact that I want to be out there.   

4.  On the way back to Kansas on Sunday, I had my first soda in over two months.  It was very necessary for those last four hours on the road, and totally worth it.  But I’m glad to be back on the unsweetened tea wagon as of Monday morning.

OK, I think that about sums it up.  (Unless there are any entertaining official photos for your ridicule.)  I’m officially moving forward to the next big challenge, whatever that may be.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s enchilada night.  Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Injury, Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marathon Footnotes

  1. d.a.r. says:

    If next weekend includes Running with the Cows, then I vote YES! 🙂

    What a cool celeb experience you had. She certainly did change the world of running for women! Now if only I can convince my mom that my uterus and bladder won’t fall out if I keep running…

Leave a Reply

