Brent Bays 5K

So. About this 5K I ran yesterday.

While I haven’t succeeded in getting connected to the Kansas City running community in the four years since I moved to town, I have been absolutely blessed to be a part of a church community for almost the entire time I’ve lived here.  I’ve met some incredible people who have been nothing but inspirational.

I didn’t show up to the Brent Bays 5K to run a fast race.  I showed up to give support to a wonderful family who is enduring a long and challenging struggle with cancer.  I showed up to commend a dedicated group of volunteers determined to help that family, and other families in the community with similar struggles, in any way possible.  I showed up to be a part of something truly great in our little suburban town. 

And in the meantime, I got to run a race. 

Mike, defying the rules of training logic, took off from the start like a madman.  I settled into a pace I was happy with, and started picking off the others who had taken off a bit too enthusiastically.  I ran at pretty much the same pace I’ve been running 5Ks for the past few years, but this time something was different: I happened to pass the rest of the women in the first mile.  I spend the last two miles chugging along to catch up to my husband (got him in the last mile, FYI.)  And when all was said and done, my 22:59 finish time was good for first overall female. 

It’s funny.  I feel all warm and fuzzy inside.  Part of it comes from finishing first, but the bigger part comes from being a part of a great event.  Not only was it well-organized (especially for a first year event!) it served a great purpose and a need within our community.  Double win!

This event was just what I needed at a point where I’m not quite sure where to go next with regard to training.  When in doubt, make a difference.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Racing, Running in KC. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brent Bays 5K

  1. Maggie says:

    Yay Sarah! All together this year, we’ve raised over $12,000. Thanks for coming out and supporting the BBF! Next year, we’ll be way more organized with our awards. I thought it was weird that you didn’t take home the medal for your division? I’m still confused about that.
    You inspire me!

Leave a Reply

