Geeking Out

I have no business blogging about television.  But after last night’s LOST finale, I have some thoughts I need to spew out there.  Forgive me for the seemingly random nature of this post on a running blog.  If for some reason you didn’t skip your Sunday evening obligations, haven’t watched the episode, and would hate me if you accidentally found out all the secrets here on a running blog, stop reading now. 

I had read recently that the LOST writers knew that fans were either going to love or hate the way the series wrapped up.  They committed to the kind of story arc that doesn’t give way to middle ground.  Judging from an informal Facebook status survey this morning, they were right.  I’m tempted to proclaim that anyone who doesn’t share my opinion simply didn’t get it, but that would be arrogant and short-sighted.  And we’re talking about a TV show here – not worth wasting my fatal flaws on.

After the show wrapped up last night, I sat for a few minutes with a gaping jaw.  What in the world just happened?  Had it all been fake?  Were we duped?  But once I processed it all, I came to a very content place.  Whatever happened on the island, happened.  Whatever happened AFTER the island, happened.  (We just didn’t get to see that part.)  Sideways-land served two purposes: 1.  To bring beloved characters back for a finale, and 2.  To make fans happy by showing a glimpse of the happy endings they thought weren’t possible. 

What I like most about it is that it opens a window to envision how the surviving characters lived the rest of their lives. 

Hurley and Ben moved back in to New Otherton, ruling the island peaceably, perhaps for hundreds of years (but probably for less.)  When you think about it, island life without the Smoke Monster is probably quite lovely.
Rose and Bernard continued living the life that they’d built on the island, with Rose cancer-free.  Just as they’d wanted. 
Desmond obviously found a way off the island and lived happily ever after with Penny and Charlie.  He probably took Libby’s boat, seeing as it was his in the first place.  This needs to have happened, or else I may punch Ben Linus in the face.
Claire got to be a mother to Aaron.
Kate, having lost her soulmate on the island and her fake child to its real mother, teams up with Sawyer, Cassady, and Clementine in a life of petty crime. 
Richard… this one is tricky.  Homeboy hasn’t ever seen modern civilization and he’s headed into it with no connections whatsoever?  Poor guy is going to deal with some major culture shock. 

Noticeably absent from the Sideways-land reunion: Michael and Walt.  While I am a little disappointed that we never learned what made Walt so “special,” I can’t say that I really care that much. 

On another note:  Ben didn’t go into the church because he had to go see about a girl.  (Mike actually exclaimed during the episode: “He can’t leave!  He’s got a hot date with Rousseau!”)  I kind of like the idea that everyone could live in Sideways-land for as long as they wanted, until they’d gotten their fill of imaginary reunions with their dearly departed loved ones.  Even if they were completely imaginary, as long as they wanted to live in ImaginationLand, it could still be “real.”  Why didn’t Ben and Rousseau just get together on the island?  Things would have been much easier for everyone involved.

As far as how it all went down on the island – you know, the part that was “real” – I’m OK with it.  It had to resolve in some manner, and “turning off the island’s power for just long enough to render Locke mortal and kill him” works for me.  We were so far removed from a realistic ending at this point, that it was pretty clear that the resolution would be all about the mythology.

The one thing that makes me sad about the storyline as a whole – Farraday was wrong.  Detonating the bomb, while setting the island back on its axis in real-time, didn’t do what he thought it would.  And because I love Farraday’s character, the fact that he was wrong makes me feel a little sad for him.  Oh well.  That theory was bunk anyway. 

Whatever happened, happened.  And it’s over now, and I’m OK with that.  I will be slightly less nerdy without this show dictating my social schedule.  And even if all that business in sideways-land where everyone lives happily ever after was completely bogus, thinking about Charlie and Claire living happily ever after makes me feel all warm and gooey inside. 

Not bad for a Monday morning.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in I Don't Always Run. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Geeking Out

  1. Megan says:

    One small and insignificant comment — Richard’s been off the island and in the modern world. Remember when he recruited Juliette? Visited child Locke? (Scott and I watched the previous 5 seasons in January, so all of this stuff is fresh in my mind.)

  2. ens says:

    overall i thought it was a great ending but i have to say im a little disappointed to not get any closure on Walt’s character or the real significance behind the numbers. I’m sad to see it go!

    Just found your blog today and i’m adding to my reader 🙂

Leave a Reply

