Suddenly Summer

Summer in the midwest seems to have arrived in a hurry.

On May 15th, the temp hovered in the sixties while the Brent Bays 5K got completely drenched.  (That link is to an article which refers to my finish time as “amazing.”  I love this town.)

Fast forward one week, and it’s so hot I’m fearing for my puppies’ well-being.

The pups are becoming pretty good runners.  Simon, our firstborn, tends to get lazy and distracted after a few miles.  But the companionship of a second dog, plus his very important duty of carrying the water backpack, have given him a renewed sense of purpose.

Sebastian is the natural athlete of the pair. But this means that he is not as likely to let us know if he is feeling the heat. We’re going to need to be careful with this one.

Seabass should be so thankful that his big brother is willing to carry water for him.

Just as the heat has snuck up on us, it is even more sudden for our four-legged running buddies.  No such thing as dri-fit for these guys.  Take good care of them!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in The Zoo, training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Suddenly Summer

  1. ens says:

    that’s so cute… one of our dogs has to carry a back pack too 🙂

  2. Em says:

    I think I told you when you first got Seb that he totally reminds me of Molly. So many other similarities here. She is the athlete of our dog duo as well (though Casey certainly gets excited for a walk), and she has literally ran until she puked in the past. Phew! 90s here for the next few days!

  3. Your dog carries a water backpack!? How cool! I want to find out more about that!

Leave a Reply

