The New Plan

I do much better in life if I have something to look forward to.  Upcoming goals and events help me stay on task, keep me motivated, and generally keep me from worthlessness. 

I’ve been wandering a bit since the marathon on May 1.  Mike and the pups have encouraged me to get my butt out of bed to run on Saturday mornings, but other than that, I’ve been a bit on the inactive side.

Which is a bit unfortunate, considering I’m signed up for three races in the next four weeks. 

Or is it?

This morning, out for a morning run in the already stifling heat, I realized that for the first time in awhile, I was having fun.  I may not have been pushing the pace, but I was enjoying the run for what it was.  I want every run to be like that.

So for the next month or so, my only plan is to run for fun.  I may not be fully prepared to race each of these upcoming events (ranging in distance from 4 to 13.1 miles), but if I run each at the right pace, I know that they can be thoroughly enjoyable.  By the end of June, I hope to be refreshed and ready to jump back into training for a fall marathon.

Because if it’s not fun, what’s the point?

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Racing, training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

