So Far, So Good

Many people hesitate to sign up for races if they don’t feel adequately prepared to race.

I’m not one of those people.

Races are the one reason I enjoy running at all.  While I appreciate the challenge of a training run, and bask in the feeling of accomplishment after finishing a good workout, it’s the atmosphere of a race that completely draws me into the sport.  There’s something about a crowd of people running down the middle of a blocked-off street that makes me so glad to be a part of it all.  So it makes sense that the month I declare my personal RUN-FOR-FUN month includes 22 miles of racing. 

5 miles down: so far, so good.

I ran with Mike and Bridgette at the Amy Thompson Run for Brain Injury on Monday morning (Memorial Day.)  What a fantastic event.  This run has been going on for 23 years, and Amy’s story has left such a strong legacy in the community. 

As we headed to Loose Park Monday morning, I sort of wished that Mike and I had a reason to live a more “urbanized” lifestyle.  There are so many great parts of Kansas City that we rarely have a reason to visit, and the Loose Park area is one of the best. 

This was both Mike and Bridgette’s longest race ever.  (Bridgette has verbally committed to going far beyond that distance this fall and winter, while Mike plans to max out at 6.2 this weekend.)  I was mostly there for support and to RUN FOR FUN!

So what does running for fun look like?

It might look like pacing a [wonderful and caring] man who has decided that shirts are completely unnecessary in life.

Or it might look like taking off in the last mile because sometimes, it’s fun to run fast.  (Our last mile split started with a SIX! Just barely, but still…)

And it might look like going out on the course and crossing the finish line a second time (sans time-chip) in support of Bridgette’s rock-star performance.

I think that as much as I enjoy setting goals and meeting/surpassing them myself, it is just as rewarding and encouraging to run alongside other people as they do the same thing. 

Gosh, I love road races.

And it’s a good thing, because I suddenly find myself two days away from another one!

Hospital Hill, coming right up!

*Note: See KC Run does a fantastic service to the Kansas City running community by taking tons of free pictures at nearly every race.  Good people right there.  No sleuthy copying required!

*Another note: The most common google traffic to my blog comes from people looking for race results.  If that’s you, they are here on mararunning.org.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Racing, Running in KC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Far, So Good

  1. Alyssa says:

    Are you running Hospital Hill??? If so, I’ll see you there!

Leave a Reply

