My Teleporting Garmin

I’ve worn the Garmin Forerunner 405 for every race so far in 2010.  Mike got it for me for Christmas, and it has become a staple of nearly every run.  At first I hesitated to wear it on training runs, thinking that I didn’t want to become a slave to the pace.  I have since changed my line of thinking, because wearing it on every run is a very easy way to keep track of total mileage.  Or maybe I’m just obsessed with data.  You decide.

Until yesterday, my only issues with the device were due to my own limited knowledge of the product’s features.   For instance, I would accidentally hit something mid-run and not know how to get back to the training screen.  Since I don’t find instruction manuals incredibly stimulating, I just deal with it. 

But something happened in the middle of the Hospital Hill half marathon yesterday that I can’t take the blame for.  I’m pretty sure that my Forerunner teleported. 

It was just after the 8-mile mark.  We had thankfully entered the portion of the course that slopes gently downhill from Brookside to the Plaza (before turning sharply uphill at mile 10 to get back to Westport and downtown.)  I had settled into a pace in the low-to-mid 8:00 range, and was feeling pretty good.  However, I looked down at my wrist, and the Garmin told me that my pace for the current mile was faster than 5:00!  Umm, what?  Yeah, we were running downhill, but I haven’t cranked out a pace that fast since doing intervals in college.  When the GPS reached the next mile about .2 miles before the actual 9-mile mark, I knew something wonky had happened.  At the real 9-mile mark I hit the “lap” button, and everything seemed to be back to normal for the rest of the race. 

The data confirms my suspicions that something was amiss in mile 9:

Did my GPS device take a quick trip to outer space and back?  (Or just to approximately 1600ft elevation?)  If any technology gurus out there know why this happens, I’d be curious to know.  Something blocking the path between me and the satellite?  Interference from other technology?  Aliens?  And while we’re at it, how does one run at a negative pace?

The truth is out there.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Equipment, Racing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Teleporting Garmin

  1. Devon says:

    That is weird… My Garmin has never done anything like that. I wonder what it could be?

  2. Lula says:

    what’s the difference between the blue line and the green one? mom

  3. Morgan says:

    LOL! Too funny! Those crazy Garmin Gremlins!!! Thanks for weighing in on my post today! 🙂

  4. laurz816 says:

    congrats on hospital hill too! thanks for the race suggestions – i did the 10k rock the parkway and definitely want to try the half next year!

Leave a Reply

