Underwater

Not 24 hours after I bragged here about my domestic aptitude, we filed our first homeowner’s insurance claim.

It rained like mad on Sunday evening, and we awoke on Monday morning to a basement full of water.  The sump pump had run all night, but apparently couldn’t keep up with the amount of rain falling, so the water spread from the sump pump…to the utility room…to the bathroom…to the carpeted living area. 

Who was it that decided carpeted basements in the Midwest were a good idea?

Needless to say, we’ve been a bit busy this week.  First it was moving furniture and storage boxes out of the wet areas, setting up fans and dehumidifiers to mitigate the damage while we waited for the claims adjuster and cleanup guy to fit us into their jam-packed schedule.  Now it’s moving EVERYTHING out of the basement so the cleanup guys can pull up the carpet and work their anti-fungal magic. 

I had planned to get all sentimental this week in advance of the race that made me fall in love with running.  But there just hasn’t been time. 

And guess what? It’s raining again!

Pleasedon’tfloodpleasedon’tfloodpleasedon’tflood!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in I Don't Always Run. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Underwater

  1. Emily says:

    I get nervous every time it pours… I have to run down to the basement frequently to check on things.

Leave a Reply

