It’s Not the Heat…

Image from supernewbie

No, really, I think it actually is the heat after all.  Because if it’s not the heat that’s keeping me indoors and my feet off the pavement, it’s the lazy.  Let’s go with heat, shall we?

But because it is still June and therefore still the MONTH OF FUN RUNNING, I’m not beating myself up about it. 

However.

July is two short days away.  And guess what? It won’t be getting any cooler here in America’s armpit.

I’ve been hesitating to corner myself with a formal PLAN for the upcoming training cycle, taking a less rigid approach to the whole thing.  Run as long as I want, as fast as I want, and just see what happens.  Sounds great, right?  I’m not so sure. 

I don’t want to run in the heat after work.
Nor do I want to get up to run before work, sometime around 5AM. 

So I’m pretty much at a loss.  Accountability is huge when it comes to motivation – and I have none.

Anybody want to drag me out the door and make me run?  It’ll be loads of fun, I promise!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Not the Heat…

  1. Em says:

    So, what race did you decide on? Richmond?

  2. Amy says:

    I’m with you. Now that corporate challenge is over I’m like “meh” about running. Haven’t run a single step in almost 2 weeks now. I need to sign up for a race or something so I have a reason to get out there.

  3. d.a.r. says:

    Ughhh my bed just feels so good in the morning. I am getting my four workouts a week in, but that is it. This half marathon is going to be bare bones training…

  4. Emily says:

    If I can run at 5 am, so can you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

