How I Spent My Summer Vacation: I

Don’t be fooled by the ridiculously hot weather…summer is effectively over. 

I don’t mind, really.  It means that the sandwich shop I sometimes frequent at lunchtime is no longer crowded with kids on their way to the pool.  Furthermore, it means I don’t spend each and every day envying my teacher-husband’s wealth of free time. 

He’s back to work this week (in a new district, which happens to be the district in which we live. HOORAY!)  While students don’t have to show up until the end of the week, it’s only fitting that i play blog catch-up in the format every student (both current and former) knows so well:

How I Spent My Summer Vacation.  

(Let’s just ignore the fact that I was only truly vacationing for four days of it, shall we?)

I pretty much disappeared from the Internet at the start of July, which is when our adventures began.  We drove over to St. Louis to spend a few days in my own personal heaven:

(Let the record show that I am the jock of this relationship.  Look closely at the shirt Mike’s wearing.)

We got to spend some time with my family in one of my very favorite cities, on one of my very favorite holidays.

My fondness of the holiday has increased in recent years, because America and the Hibits share an anniversary weekend.  In addition to celebrating our country’s independence, we also celebrated the two years that have passed since our wedding on 7/5/08:

 Two years, already?!  I’m also having some serious moments of disbelief when I realize I’ve now lived in Kansas City for longer than I lived in my college town.  In a lot of ways, it feels like just yesterday I was a bright-eyed college grad…but in many others, it feels like an eternity ago. 

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in I Don't Always Run, I'm a Jock. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How I Spent My Summer Vacation: I

  1. Pingback: How I Spent My Summer Vacation: II « Still A Runner

Leave a Reply

