How I Spent My Summer Vacation: II

This post is a continuation of my first “How I Spent My Summer Vacation” essay, found here.

I started a new job in late 2009.  When I did so, I sacrificed four annual weeks of paid vacation from my old job.  I’m aware that is a ridiculous amount of vacation for three years of service, but trust me – it wasn’t worth it.  That job was crap. 

The transition to one sad little week of vacation the first year at my new [wonderful, fulfilling, empowering] job was tough to bear at first.  I counted the Fridays I would need to use for short trips home or to weddings, and threw aside any hopes of doing anything for the sake of relaxation before I was refreshed with two weeks on my one-year service anniversary. 

It was during this time that we planned our trip to St. Louis over the 4th of July.  I was going to do something this summer, even if it was just one major city away!  I accepted my fate, and even started to look forward to our short little trip.

By mid-spring, I started counting days on the calendar.  I actually had more time than I thought I would.  If I used every minute of vacation time allotted to me, and crossed my fingers for no non-health-related emergencies in the month of August, I realized I could take four days and do as I pleased. 

So I did.

We (myself, Mike, his sister and her husband) spent four days reading books, lounging by the pool, and eating mass quantities of food at a resort in the Mayan Riviera. It couldn’t have been lovelier.  Four days was the perfect amount of time to spend on the resort – we never felt bored or the need to escape the grounds; we never had to repeat a restaurant; we never felt obligated to spend time with “vacation friends” instead of doing what we actually wanted. 

This trip really drove the nail in the coffin of my summer running plans.  But you know what?  I’m not too concerned.  It’s called summer vacation for a reason.

I returned relaxed, rejuvenated, and prepared to at least consider coming up with a plan for my running-related future. 

And that’s pretty much where we stand today, because the moment I returned things at work got absolutely INSANE [yet challenging and rewarding.  Of course.]    I’m so thankful we took the opportunity for this little escape. 

Have you taken a last-minute getaway?  Did it live up to your expectations?

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in I Don't Always Run, Life is Good. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How I Spent My Summer Vacation: II

  1. Shaina says:

    Oooh, a last-minute getaway sounds AMAZING!!! I am tres jealous. What a fabulous time!

  2. Sarah says:

    Loooooove vacations. In other news – I gave you an award! Head over to my neck of the woods to check it out!

Leave a Reply

