Triumphant Return

I don’t know if you noticed – in fact, I don’t exactly know who “you” might be – but I sorta disappeared for awhile. 

There are a few reasons for my hiatus.

First, we went a few months without a laptop.  I feel like writing on the desktop took away from the “living” part of life-blogging – and especially after Teacher Mike started back at school in the fall, I appreciate the value of actually spending time together in the evenings when we both happen to be home at the same time.  Fortunately, we bit the bullet, replaced the laptop, and now I can multi-task blogging and watching the Bears game (no matter how terrible) and chat with Mike while he grades Geometry tests.  Life is good.

Second, in the middle of the summer I made an unofficial decision to put off training for a few months to…uhh…focus on my career as an adult recreational soccer player.  In all honesty, the notion of jumping into marathon training again just didn’t appeal to me.  I promised myself when I graduated from college that if I didn’t want to run, I wouldn’t force myself.  So I didn’t push the issue, and waited patiently until motivation struck to jump back into training.

It’s a good thing that motivation has struck, because all the while I’ve been registered for Rock N Roll Arizona.  Those things ain’t refundable, friends.  So as of October 1st, GAME ON.

I made my triumphant return to the KC running scene with a 5K this morning.  I’m up to my old antics, looking terrible in finish-line photographs:

The encouraging news is that I wasn’t terribly slow.  I ran one 7:15 mile and two 7:30s, finishing right at 23:00 flat.  I find this result completely acceptable.  I’m only bummed that the time wasn’t good for the win at this tiny first-year event.  The winner got me by about 10 seconds, all gained early in the second mile.  She was wearing an iPod.  I should have gotten her. 

Next time!

Now, it’s back to that “living” thing.  (Is anyone watching this Bears game? Jay Cutler looks like the worst quarterback of ALL TIME!)

It’s good to be back, friends.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Triumphant Return

  1. Em says:

    Welcome back. I did that race (the 1/2) in Phoenix last year. I have another friend in addition to you going this year. Phoenix is AWESOME in January. Do you know Kristi Willenburg (I think she was before your time). She lives there. If I only had the budget for it, I would do it again this year!!

  2. Jen says:

    glad to have you back 🙂

Leave a Reply

