DOA

Is there anyone alive out there?

…my first post in many, many months and I start out by quoting Titanic.  Not cool, Armstrong.

(Please tell me I’m not the only person in the universe who does this…and by this, I mean referring to myself in the third person when I do something dumb.  And not by my legal name; by some “other” name that makes the person who did that dumb thing a completely different individual than the person speaking.  Yes, I’m losing my mind.  Perhaps there’s a reason I haven’t been writing lately.)  It’s only lately that I’ve been feeling the urge to share my thoughts with the world again.  I’ve been pretty much swamped for months with a job I actually enjoy committing to, and a master’s degree I wish would just go and earn itself already. 

I have not run a road race since the Arizona Rock N Roll half marathon in January.  (Which was lovely, but extremely leisurely.) 

I skipped the Westport St. Patrick’s Day Run, which has been a staple of my racing agenda since I moved to Kansas City. 

I am not registered for Rock the Parkway, a race I adore.  Registration is now closed.

The only people who have regularly encouraged me to run around here are either indefinitely injured, or have packed up and left town. 

I feel less like a runner than I have in a really long time.  Runner pity party, table for one…

But as I write this, I still feel encouraged.  I have this sneaky suspicion that no matter how far I’m away, I’ll always come back. 

Because through it all, I’m still a runner.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in I Don't Always Run. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DOA

  1. Em Komiskey says:

    Sarah! Good to “see” you again. Phew! I’ve missed you, and I’m glad you’re still out there, doing your thing.

    I actually have a 10 mile race tomorrow that I am no where near prepared for and it’s going to be very slow and more than a little pathetic. I considered just throwing in the towel, but I already paid the $37 registration, so I might as well just do it, right? Even though I have to get up at 5am and drop TWO babes off with a sitter since my husband works at a boarding school and has to teach on Saturdays.

    Okay, sorry. That was a lot about me when this should be about you. We have running seasons, I think, it waxes and wanes. Just like in a training period, you have “easy days” and “easy weeks,” I think some time off in the grand scheme of things makes us come back with a renewed energy to keep going.

    I got to reunite with some of the “big kids” (ha!) at Suzanne’s wedding last weekend (maybe you saw that one my blog). No group run this time, though, because every is either pregnant or has an infant. Ha! There’s talk of a Kirksville reunion in June 2012, so keep that in the back of your mind. Details will be forthcoming.

    I miss you!

    Oh, one more thing: just in time for you to get back in the groove, a childhood friend of mine is working on organizing a 1/2 marathon in GALENA, possibly 1st weekend in November. Put that on your calendar.

  2. Megan says:

    Well, I’m planning on staging a post-baby comeback here in the next couple of weeks. If you want a very slow, very out of shape, recently pregnant lady to make you feel better about how your training is going, I’d be happy oblige. Also, it’d be way easier to heave myself back into some semblance of shape if I have someone to talk to. AND I’m in Olathe and not South Carolina now.

    THE END 🙂

  3. d.a.r. says:

    Yeahhh!! I almost squealed when I saw you pop back into my google reader! So glad to see a post from you!

    And yes—I am back in Kansas City. Praise GOD, haha.

Leave a Reply

