Quality of Life

I’ve been stressed out and generally exhausted lately, but there are quite a few things that nevertheless increase my quality of life.  Here’s a short list:

1.  Stash Chai Spice Black Tea.  I brewed boring old Lipton’s for the longest time (bought 300 bags in bulk from CostCo, so I didn’t have much of a choice!) but decided if I was going to make tea my primary caffeine source, I needed to find something better.  Black Chai tea is the answer.  Caffeinated AND cinnamon-spiced! Oh yes.

2.  A wonderful husband who is willing to make said tea on weekday mornings.  I had a major epiphany a few months ago, after yet another morning at work where I didn’t feel functional until almost lunchtime.  What if I found time to drink my tea at home, before leaving for work, so that I don’t have to struggle quite so hard to operate my brain at 8AM meetings?  Genius!  Tea is tricky, because it takes a long time to cool.  But if Mike starts brewing it for me while I’m dragging myself out of bed after a late class and not-nearly-enough-sleep, by the time I get ready for work and sit down at the table it is perfect. 

3.  The best dogs in the world.  How can you argue otherwise?

They are clearly still completely insane (see: Sebastian gnawing on Simon’s ear, above) but it’s ridiculous how much joy they bring to my life.  Lately in the morning, they’ve been such perfect quiet angels after I bring them in that I almost go to work leaving them full reign of the house.  (In fact, I actually DID forget one Sunday morning and Sebastian greeted Mike at the door after church…oops!) 

No matter how frazzled or grumpy I get, sometimes I just need to remind myself that through it all, life is good.

What little things increase your quality of life?

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Life is Good. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quality of Life

  1. Em Komiskey says:

    Mmmm … chai tea … yes! Even my 2-year-old likes to have a sip of my chai tea. Do you drink it how it is traditionally taken, with a little bit of lightener and a little bit of sweetener? (I do milk and honey, but I think I would prefer cream)

    Sorry to hear about the stress/exhaustion. Stay strong, sister.

  2. d.a.r. says:

    My dogs. Exercise…for fun. Diet Coke. Cookies while laying bed with a book. Super soft sweat pants. Stealing away for lunch dates with my mom or girl friends.

    Hang in there…hope the stress subsides!

Leave a Reply

