Join the Club

All this time I’ve spent metaphorically crying about how I’m not involved in the Kansas City running community…and I’ve never bothered to formally join any running clubs. 

That ends today.

I just gave my $15 to the KC Track Club, a group I ran with exactly once in 2006 and have been too scared to go back.  (Their Wednesday Night Runs are hosted at people’s houses, and that’s just intimidating for a stranger.)  I keep forgetting to check the schedule for nights they meet at local watering holes instead of homes, because let’s be honest – that’s a bit more my style.

What will come of this membership?  Honestly, I’m not too sure.  They have a really great “Run Local” campaign that plans smaller group runs in neighborhoods all over the city…not mine, of course, but who’s to say that there isn’t demand for it?

I have this goofy idea that if I just start broadcasting the dates and locations of my runs, that maybe people will start showing up and running with me, and thus the Deep-Southwest -KC-Almost-Too-Far-Out-to-Still-be-Considered-A-Suburb Running Club will be born.  

Somehow, signing up for an existing organization seems to make just a little more sense.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Join the Club

  1. Emily says:

    I like your club name 🙂

  2. d.a.r. says:

    I’d love to have some people to run with! I am just nervous because I am so not fast, I don’t want to look like a total spazz in front of people who actually take running seriously and are decent at it!

  3. Megan says:

    Ummmm…I think I might be in your club’s region. I shall now be stalking to see if you actually do post your running info. Lol!

Leave a Reply

