Baby Steps Toward Blogging Again

How do you come back from a long blogging hiatus?  As many times as I’ve attempted it, you’d think I’d have it figured out by now.  Alas, it’s just as awkward as ever.  This triumphant return has been a month or so in the making – as evidenced by the following baby steps:

1.  Read first, then write.

In an effort to rejoin society, I thought a good start would be to tackle my Google Reader and catch up on what’s been going on in the world while I’ve been away.  And I tried, I really did.  But when you read and read and read and that little ticker still reads “1000+”, it’s a little overwhelming.  There comes a point where you just have to “mark all as read” and move on.  A fresh start, so to speak.  I can’t promise my queue won’t reach 1,000 unread posts again, but I’ll do my best to keep up (and by keep up, I mean check in more often than once every several months).

2.  140 Characters at a Time

I got my toes wet by firing up the ‘ole twitter account.  I gave it a little face-lift – new username and all.  Started things off with the occasional retweet…then added little snippets of my own commentary.  Next thing you know, I’m criticizing major magazine articles and posting tweets that drive away my already-limited follower base.  I admit it – it feels kinda good to have a voice, whether people like it or not.  Does this mean I’m ready?  I think so!

3.  Word Vomit

Now that I’ve gotten good and comfortable with the blogosphere, I might as well just pretend like I never left, right?  Before I do, I feel a bulleted list may be in order.  Just to get a few formalities out of the way.  So without further ado, here’s what’s been happening around here since my hiatus began:

  • In September, I undertook a big project at work, which commanded what little free time I wasn’t spending on schoolwork.  Real-world application is kind of the point of the evening MBA program, right?
  • In December, I finished my MBA.  Whew!  It was the toughest, most time-consuming semester of the entire program, but the most rewarding by far.
  • The last week of classes coincided with the last week of my first trimester of pregnancy.  Umm, what?  Yeah.  Talk about a stressful fall!

Needless to say, Mike and I are thrilled with what the next year holds for us.  There might even be a thing or two to write about.  And keeping with the theme of the blog, I might just make a few attempts at walk-jog-shuffling as the days get longer this spring.

It’s good to be back.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Life is Good. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Steps Toward Blogging Again

  1. moonlightsewing says:

    Welcome back.

    Congratulations (many times over).

    As for my own social media, I now have a 2nd blog as I am trying to start a business (any tips from that MBA accepted and appreciated). I also finally jumped on the twitter bandwagon, though I haven’t said much. What’s your name?

Leave a Reply

