The Last 20 Weeks

And now for a brief (or maybe not-so-brief) catch-up session on all things baby.

Was this baby planned? Yes.  I’m actually offended shocked at how many people came out and asked this question when we told them we were expecting.  I may not be the most maternal toward other people’s babies, and may not have proclaimed to the world when we decided to start trying, but this baby has been a part of our plans and hopes for a long time.

When is baby due? June 17th.
Why that’s great: June 17th is Father’s Day!  Mike thinks this is pretty special – and I do too.  We know there is a pretty minimal likelihood that the wee one will actually be born on its due date, but it’s a really neat coincidence for us as first-time parents.
Also, an early-summer baby will give us an opportunity to spend time together as a family.  Mike will be on his summer vacation and in theory, we’ll get to figure out the whole parenting thing together until he goes back to school and I go back to work in the fall.  Yes, I will be going back to work.  That’s reality for us as a family.

Oh, there is one reason why a due date of June 17 may not be representative of superb life-planning: that race I have been running every year since age 12? Saturday, June 16th.  While there are scenarios that would allow for my 17th Steamboat to happen – I am resigned to play it by ear.  In the grand scheme of things, a healthy baby is the top priority.  I have no intention of being like the crazy Chicago Marathon lady and putting everyone at risk…not to mention Peoria is outside of my insurance network.

How are things going?  Very well so far.  From what I gather, I’ve been pretty lucky with the whole morning sickness thing.  I learned very early on that while it seems counter-productive, the first thing to do when nausea hits is to get something to eat.  It most commonly hits me around 10AM – and at 20 weeks, I still make a mid-morning run for the break room at work nearly every day.  But I know that some women have it much worse, so I try not to complain.  (Unless there’s a line at the vending kiosk.)

While I have gone into every doctor’s appointment with a combination of anxiety and disbelief, all signs point to a healthy baby and a normal pregnancy.  We are so thankful to have been blessed with an easy pregnancy so far…although I still think I’m in a bit of a state of disbelief about the whole thing.

Is baby active?  From what we’ve seen via ultrasound, absolutely.  However, I haven’t been able to feel much yet.  Apparently the position of the placenta is cushioning the baby’s jabs to the front of my abdomen – which explains why almost all of the movement I’ve felt so far has been out to either side.

The result?  While my belly is starting to grow, for the most part I feel completely “normal.”  I know this will change, and I will soon be faced with distracted work and disrupted sleep.  Part of me knows to enjoy this peaceful time now, although I do look forward to those reassurances that baby is moving and growing.

This is probably enough for now.  Unless you want to see some pictures…what?  That’s all that people really read this kind of thing for?  OK, fine.

Here’s the little one:

And the one who’s getting bigger by the day:

19 weeks, 5 days

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Baby. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last 20 Weeks

  1. moonlightsewing says:

    Yay!! I’m so happy for you and Mike and the furbabies, who will soon have a new puppy to protect!

Leave a Reply

