Entertainment for Runners

If there’s one thing a runner loves, it’s race results.

For years, I had a Sunday ritual, looking up race results for every race in which someone I know – or sort of know, or know only by name or reputation – competed.  Now that most of my colleagues are “retired” from competitive racing, there isn’t nearly as much for me to geek over.  But if I know you’re running a race, you can bet that I’ll be looking up the results after the event is finished.

Before you label me a nosy stalker, though, know that I’m celebrating your finish along with you.  Unless you’re not celebrating…in that event, I’m sharing your pain.  Results, particularly those that publish mid-race splits, tell the race’s story.  And runners who enjoy competition will seek out every opportunity to experience the dramatic story arc of a race, whether directly through competition or vicariously through a bunch of numbers on a webpage.

Today, I decided to update the “Race Results” section of this site.  This endeavor conveniently coincided with Libby’s longest midday nap ever, which allowed me to completely slip into the Internet Data Time Warp.

Two hours later, I’ve experienced the full range of emotions as I looked up the evidence for each of my personal best races – recent, post-collegiate, and all-time.  Reliving those moments, from competitive college track meets as well as much sillier results from corporate challenge events, made me smile. (While accidentally clicking into the results for the wrong event caused me to relive moments I’d rather forget!)  And now they are all linked up on my shiny new “Personal Bests” page.

Most of you would go cross-eyed staring at those numbers.  Others sharing my affliction might be momentarily entertained by these little historical snapshots…while still others who lived those moments as my teammates or fellow competitors (Em? Megan?) might get a pretty good chuckle.

Putting this page together might have just been a way for me to pass the time, but now I’m more impatient than ever to hit the road.

My 6-week checkup, and hopeful release from purgatory, is tomorrow.  Crossing my fingers for a good report!

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Entertainment for Runners

  1. moonlightsewing says:

    Good luck tomorrow! Hope you get the go ahead to start being active again.

Leave a Reply

