Post-Baby Goals

Well, I survived my first run!  If you could call it that.
I left the Garmin (and even my trusty old Timex) at home, so I was really just out for a stroll.  We (Mike, both dogs, Libby and I) went out on the longer of our dog-walking routes, which surprisingly I had never mapped out until yesterday.  Turns out, it’s a 2.2 mile loop.  I estimate that I jogged about 1.5 miles, in roughly 1/2 mile increments.

I’ll take it.  I’ll rest today, with maybe a walk this evening, and try to get back out there again tomorrow.

I don’t exactly know how far I’m going to take this.  While I’d love to reach for those post-collegiate PRs, I have to be realistic.  I have no idea what my body, my schedule, or my priorities will dictate.  Even with that uncertainty, though, I think it’s important to lay out a few goals:

1.  Establish a routine: run 3 days per week.
2.  Finish a half marathon this fall.

That’s it.  No numbers, no specifics.  Those will certainly come in time, and I’d be lying if I said there weren’t very specific numbers swirling around in my head right now.  But at this point, after nearly a year layoff – significant physical and circumstantial changes – and a major operation, it’s not about numbers.  It’s about putting one foot in front of the other.  One step at a time.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

