Crunch Time

Ab work is a social activity.

There isn’t much to smile about when getting up to work out at 5:30 am, but some of my fondest memories of college running outside of racing are those moments we spent chatting over planks and crunches at the crack of dawn. It turned an otherwise mundane activity into a social one.

Which brings me to today. I’ve had a multi-tasking breakthrough of sorts. When Libby has tummy time…

image

I have crunch time. I’m on the floor anyway, and I can still watch and engage with Libby while doing a few sit-ups or planks. It’s not the best workout in the world, but doing these exercises while hanging out with my little girl sure makes them go quickly. And a few crunches, a few times a day, adds up.

So it looks like I have myself a new training partner. She works on strengthening her core while I work on mine. We make a good team.

About stillarunner

I used to run. Some days, I even ran fast. Then I got a job. And met a boy. And bought a house. And rescued a dog. And rescued another dog. And went back to school. And created human life. I might not run every day, or even every week. There’s a good possibility that I will never be fast again. But I’m still a runner.
This entry was posted in Baby, training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crunch Time

  1. Love it. And it just gets better. You should see my 2-year-old try to do a push-up. Hilarious!

  2. Meggie says:

    You’re an inspiration, Sarah! Sounds like crunch time has changed a bit over the years, but is still oh-so-enjoyable 🙂 Teamwork!

Leave a comment